Monday, October 7, 2019

Is a DUI a Felony in Arizona?

  If caught driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood-alcohol content above the legal limit, you will likely be arrested. Arizona DUI laws also cover driving under the influence of illegal drugs.

Blood-Alcohol Content Limits

The standard DUI limit in Arizona is a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 percent. As to how many bottles or how many shots of alcoholic drinks it takes to reach this level, it varies from person to person. Blood-alcohol content is affected not only by the type and amount of alcoholic beverage consumed, but also by gender, weight, and the amount of time that you’ve been drinking. Nonetheless, the bottom line is, a blood-alcohol content above the statutory limit would make you too drunk to drive.

Possible Penalties

Arizona DUI Law takes into account different blood-alcohol content levels along with other factors. These factors include previous arrests and/or conviction, and whether or not there were minor passengers at the time of the arrest.
  • Standard DUI First offense: The first time you are arrested with a standard DUI of 0.08+, you can receive 10 days of jail time. Along with this, you may be fined up to $1,500, plus jail costs and an $80 monitoring fee. You will be required to undergo screening and counseling. You could also get a 90-day suspension or one-year revocation of your driver’s license.
  • Standard DUI Second Offense: The second time you’re caught driving while intoxicated with a blood-alcohol content over 0.08, you will be made to serve 9 days in jail. The fine is about $3,500 with jail/home detention costs and an $80 monitoring fee. You will also be required to undergo screening and counseling. Your license will be revoked for one year and you’ll have to serve 30 hours of community service.
  • First offense for extreme DUI: An extreme DUI of 0.15+ could lead to 30 days jail time. Along with this, you will also be fined about $2,780, plus jail/home detention costs, and an $80 monitoring fee. Screening and counseling are required and you will also receive a 90-day MVD suspension.
  • Second offense for extreme DUI: The second time you are arrested with severely high alcohol content levels, you have to serve 120 days in jail. Fines would run to about $3,740, plus jail/home detention costs and an $80 monitoring fee. You will be required to undergo screening and counseling and receive a 1-year revocation of your MVD. You will also be required to serve 30 hours of community service.
  • First offense for super extreme DUI: The first time you are arrested with a super extreme DUI of 0.20+, the possible jail time is set at 45 days. You will also have to pay fines averaging at $3,240, along with jail/home detention costs and an $80 monitoring fee. You will have to undergo screening and counseling, along with a 90-day MVD suspension.
  • Second offense for super extreme DUI: The second time you’re caught at this level of intoxication, jail time is raised to 180 days and the fine goes up to about $4,650, plus jail/home detention costs and a monitoring fee of $80. You will also get 1-year revocation of your MVD and will have to render community service for 30 months.
Terms of the jail time and other penalties can actually be negotiated while in court. So, in case you get arrested, it is best to have a lawyer from a reputable firm like the Law Offices of Gary L. Rohlwing.

Is a DUI a Felony in Arizona? See more on: Gary Rohlwing www.criminal-duiattorney.com/

Law Offices of Gary L Rohlwing

7112 N 55th Ave

Glendale, AZ 85301

(623) 937-1692

https://goo.gl/maps/vntMC15aMUG2



from http://www.criminal-duiattorney.com/blog/dui/is-a-dui-a-felony-in-arizona/